FRENCH INSPIRED BOOKSHELF

My finished french script inspired bookcase!
Again, in my excitement, I forgot to take a “before” pic.  
I picked up this solid wood bookcase for $35 on ebay.  
I wanted something to put the kids books in because they have so many!
Here is an “in the middle of” pic.  
If you can imagine, the whole bookshelf was painted a dark greenish grey colour. Yucko.
So I decided to make it look “pretty”.

Firstly I painted the outer sides with white chalk paint. Love my chalk paint.  
Goes on so thick you only need one coat!  
When the paint was dry I sanded off all the little gritty bits that chalk paint seems to leave.
Then I printed off some french script wording to fit on the sides. 
 I taped the words on and then traced them with a pen, leaving the imprint on the wood underneath.
Then I mixed up some grey chalk paint and filled in the words by hand with a paintbrush.
Finally I used the rest of the grey chalk paint to paint the inside shelves of the bookcase.
After waiting for the paint to fully dry I gave it a light sand.
Then I fully distressed the entire piece, paying attention to the areas that would have taken most the wear.
Finally I applied a coat of furniture wax to seal and protect the paint.
I love the way the wax brings out the distressing details.
Just a reminder …
Before:
After:
Looks too pretty for the kids now.  Might have to keep for myself. 🙂
This entry was posted in Furniture Make Over, Stencils, Vintage Inspired. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

