Cushion Makeover – Printing directly on fabric in the printer!

Today I decided to make another drop cloth cushion, but using the method of printing directly on the fabric from the printer.  I chose to use calico to print on. Above is the finished cushion!
Here is what I started with …
Firstly I grabbed my drop cloth, lay the cushion on it and traced out the size.  Then I sewed up the all the sides, except one.  In hind site, I might have sewed the calico on first. 
Then I chose a picture from The Graphics Fairy website.  I cut a piece of calico to A4 size, sprayed a sheet of A4 paper with quilting adhesive spray and stuck the calico on.  Then I put it in the printer and pressed print while I held my breath.  And guess what, it worked!  There are some minor black ink streaks where I think it might have stuck to the adhesive spray, but I’m not too concerned and think this just adds to the character of the print. 🙂
Then I sewed the calico to the drop cloth cushion and frayed the edges. 
Then I put the filling in, and sewed the final side closed.
I’m super pleased with the result! 🙂
This entry was posted in Calico, Cushions, DIY Decorating, Drop Cloth Inspiration, labels, Vintage Inspired. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cushion Makeover – Printing directly on fabric in the printer!

  1. Julie says:

    Hi Gillyflower, thanks for your comments! I left my printer on it's current settings and it was fine. I ironed the back to heat set the ink, so fingers crossed it will be fine in the wash. 🙂

  2. gillyflower says:

    Wow I think this is brilliant! Did you have to set the printer to a certain setting to allow for the extra bulk? And will it be washable do you think?Id like to try this, thankyou so much for sharing!!Gill xx

Leave a Reply

